

MINUTES OF THE COOS-CURRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. 84th ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS COOS-CURRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. **HEADQUARTERS WAREHOUSE BUILDING** PORT ORFORD, OREGON June 16, 2022

The 84th Annual Meeting of the Members of Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative, Inc. (CCEC) was called to order at 8:33 a.m. by President of the Board Jim Kolen on Thursday, June 16, 2022, at the Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative, Inc. headquarters warehouse building just north of Port Orford, Oregon. There were 51 members present in person and 31 members attending virtually. There was a total of 2,240 qualified ballots returned for the 2022 vote-bymail elections. The President declared a quorum, present and voting, of the members.

President Kolen asked Secretary Herzog for a roll call. The following CCEC Directors were present: Georgia Cockerham, John Herzog, Jim Kolen, Daniel Loshbaugh, Cheryl McMahan, Pete Radabaugh and Daryl Robison. Also present were General Manager/Chief Executive Officer (GM/CEO) Brent Bischoff, Legal Counsel Tyler Pepple, Chief Financial Officer Paul Keeler, Executive Assistant Shelly Smith Napier.

The President called upon Legal Counsel Tyler C. Pepple to read the Notice of Annual Meeting of the Members, which he did.

President Kolen asked Legal Counsel Pepple to announce the election results from the vote-by-mail ballot count. Mr. Pepple announced the results as follows:

> Director elections results - directors elected and re-elected: District #1 & 2 Georgia Cockerham District #3-4-5 At Large Daniel Loshbaugh

District #5

Pete Radabaugh

The President thanked Mr. Pepple for the announcement.

President Kolen then called upon Secretary Herzog to read the draft minutes of the previous year's Annual Meeting of the Members. Secretary Herzog read the meeting minutes. A motion was made to approve the minutes, the motion was seconded and unanimously carried.

Chief Executive Officer Brent Bischoff addressed the membership with the annual state of the cooperative and responded to questions from members in attendance.

Chief Financial Officer Paul Keeler reviewed the annual consolidated audited financial statements for the period ending December 31, 2021 and responded to questions from members in attendance.

The President called for any unfinished business. There was no unfinished business.

The President called for any new business. Legal Counsel Pepple conveyed how annual meeting business is to be conducted and referred to the CCEC bylaws regarding any vote of the membership, which under Article II, Section 5, provide that if a vote of the members is deemed appropriate by the Board or a vote is required by law, the Articles of Incorporation, or these Bylaws, it shall be the duty of the Secretary to prepare a written ballot to be mailed or delivered electronically to the members.

A member made a motion and seconded to open board meetings to all members.

- A member made a motion and seconded to move the annual meeting to a weekend and to move the meeting closer to the largest member population.
- A member presented a resolution to the board to perform an external risk-assessment audit of Beacon Broadband business plan, that the audit results are published and available to the membership, that all infrastructure expenses by Beacon immediately desist until the audit is available, and that based on the published audit results a majority yes vote by the membership be had before proceeding with more Beacon Broadband infrastructure spending.
- A member made a motion and seconded to make Beacon Broadband a not-for-profit entity.
- A member made a motion and seconded to reinstate all of Director Cockerham's board member duties.
- A member made a motion and seconded for board term limits.

The Board committed to take each motion under advisement at its next meeting and report to the membership. The President introduced Pete Radabaugh, Beacon Broadband (BBI) Board President, who in turn introduced three presentations on broadband.

GM/CEO Bischoff presented the history of CCEC research into broadband and development of BBI from inception in 2018 to authorization to construct the fiber to the home network in November 2020.

BBI General Manager Paul Recanzone presented the status of BBI's fiber construction and rollout of fiber broadband services.

BBI Ex-officio Board Member Joe Franell presented an overview of efforts within Oregon and nationally to deploy broadband to rural America.

President Kolen asked if there were any member questions or comments.

- A member asked what Joe Franell's title is. Mr. Franell is an ex-officio Beacon Broadband board member, an advisor to the board with no voting power.
- A member thanked the board for the highly informative annual meeting and appreciated the sharing of information. She would like to see transparency.
- A member made a motion, and it was seconded to bring Director Cockerham back to all board duties immediately.
- A member asked if it was legal and ethical to remove a board member for certain activities. President Kolen read aloud the reasons for removal of Director Cockerham.
- A member wants to hear about the decisions that will be made from today's meeting.

The Board reiterated that it would take all motions made by members under advisement at its next meeting.

There being no further business to come before the 84th Annual Meeting of Members of Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative, Inc., the meeting was adjourned at 1:29 p.m.

John Herzog, Secretary

ATTEST:

Jim Kolen, President



Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative 2022 Annual Meeting In-Person Attendance

Adams Scott W Tad M Bell **Bernard Marcia** Billington Elias Bozeman Kelsey Champlain Mike Chenoweth Craig S Cockerham Bruce E Coker Lynn F Cox Philip K Dreger Youwanda D Fandel Racheal J Fraser Janna L Gold Suzanne Gray Duffell R Guinn Earl R Halcumb Ed Hausmann Janice Herzog John G Heyl Leah L Itzen David G Klein Ree S Kolen James V Kron Darrell L Loshbaugh Daniel Marino Debra Martin James E Mcintyre Marilyn M Mcmahan Cheryl L Mielde Matt Moore Travis Mullen Kathleen A Nast Mark Nowlin R L Radabaugh Pete **Repp Stephen** Reynolds Darren Robison Daryl C Runyan Michael L Schaben Kendrick Smith Elizabeth J Smith Joseph C Springer Erin Marie St James Mark

Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Brookings Or **Brookings Or** Gold Beach Or Port Orford Or Brookings Or Wedderburn Or **Brookings Or Brookings Or** Powers Or Port Orford Or **Brookings Or** Brookings Or Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Brookings Or Port Orford Or **Brookings Or** Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Brookings Or Sixes Or **Brookings Or** Gold Beach Or Sixes Or **Brookings Or Brookings Or** Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or Brookings Or Bandon Or **Brookings Or** Gold Beach Or Sixes Or Brookings Or Port Orford Or Port Orford Or Gold Beach Or Gold Beach Or **Brookings Or**

Thompson Miranda L Whaley Joe Wilson Joe T Worrall Jack L Yerkes Robert S Yockey Shelly A Young Misty Brookings Or Brookings Or Gold Beach Or Brookings Or North Bend Wa Brookings Or Brookings Or

Total Attendence In-Person: 51